Why I believe in fairy tales and why you should

I recently started following a TV show – Once Upon a Time. This show is a combination of lots of fairy tales that most of us know and love as kids. You know the thing about fairy tales is that they almost always end well, heroes get happy endings and well, we all know how villains end up. In Once Upon a time, I learnt that nothing is set in stone and even if they are, stones can be crushed.

I have been going through a rough patch in the last couple of months. I would wake up each day too scared to get out of bed, not motivated to do anything. It was like my tear glands grew a mind of their own and conspired against me. Everything made me cry.

And that was when I stumbled on this show. In a bid to occupy my idle time with something other than crying and work, I stuck with it and I’m glad I did. For one, I discovered stories I had never even known existed. Stories of love, love lost and found, kindness, joy, strengths and weaknesses, family, forgiveness and most importantly stories of hope.

My point is this, yes, life isn’t fair, no one said it would be. We all go through rough and tough times. The thing is as unbelievable as it may sound, things always get better and when they do, it is almost always like the rough patch didn’t even happen at all.

Fairy tales are a reminder that our lives will get better if we just hold on to hope. Your happy ending may not necessarily be what you hoped for or expected, and that is what will make it so special. Believing in even the possibility of a happy ending is a powerful thing and it’s something we all could most definitely use.

Leave a Reply

